Babbling Brook, Living Stream……Why?

Why? I’ve asked God that question more times than I care to think of over the last 30 or 40 years. Why me? Why him? Why her? Why are mountains tall? Why is life so hard?  Why am I so blessed?  Why, on some days God do I feel you so near and why on other days do I feel so removed from you?  The questions seem to never end.  The babbling in my mind seems, many times, it may never end.  Yet, each time the incessant babbling brook springs forth I have discovered that if I give those questions truly over to my God, if I spend time in quiet reflection, pray to Him, then slow down and listen to what He has to say I discover something amazing within my babbling brook.  I discover His peace, His presence, His stream of living water poured out upon me.  When i sit in prayer, listening to His voice an amazing thing begins to happen; words begin to happen.  They fall onto my paper, as if I am only the instrument holding the pen.  God speaks beautiful words to me when I humbly submit my hand to His presence.  The words serve as a balm for my heart, as wisdom in my confusion, as confirmation of His outrageous love for me.  God has provided me with an enormous amount of insight and love through my submission of pen to paper. It is my hope, my prayed, my fervent wish that somehow, someway this blog will touch the hearts of others, that others will be able to grasp and cling tight to the knowledge that no matter the road you travel, short and narrow, newly paved or full of potholes, God will be right there, not as your navigator but as your driver.  

Standard

Leave a Reply

